Upcoming Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Culturally Specific Trauma-Informed Advocacy – Working with API survivors

January 14, 2014 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

The webinar will discuss what trauma-informed advocacy looks like when working with survivors/victims from the Asian Pacific Islander (API) communities where sexuality and sexual violence are considered as taboo.

January 14th, 2014, Tuesday
6pm EST
5pm CST
4pm MST
3pm PST
8am Guam/Saipan
10am Am Samoa

Presenter: Nina Jusuf
Nina has been involved in Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault issues since 1992. She started as a volunteer and several years later held the Executive Director position of a Rape Crisis Center in San Francisco. Nina co‐founded a crisis center in Indonesia in 1997 and assisted Volunteer of Human Rights in Jakarta, Indonesia in setting up support for victims of mass rape after the May 1998 riot. After experiencing burnout and watching other sisters leave the movement due to exhaustion, she started learning and practicing trauma-based wellness techniques. She has been trained and mentored as a trainer by the Capacitar International training team in Trauma-Informed wellness and has facilitated sustaining activism and security workshops for Women Human Rights Defenders and nongovernmental organizations’ staff globally: USA, Regional Asia, Indonesia, Timor Leste, Serbia and the Balkans. Nina co-founded NAPIESV and currently is an advisor for Global Fund for Women, Urgent Action Fund, Capacitar International and Board member of a Youth LGBT organization in Indonesia.

Details

Date:
January 14, 2014
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Webinar